News from the Blume Research Group at the University of Oklahoma.

Center for Quantum Research and Technology (CQRT)

Homer L. Dodge Department of Physics and Astronomy

July 22, 2020: “Non-exponential tunneling” work posted on arXiv

Tunneling through a barrier is intriguing: Classically, a particle does not have enough energy to escape. Quantum mechanically, however, there is a chance for the particle to escape. Typically, the quantum mechanical tunneling probability is described by an exponential. It turns out, though, that the quantum mechanical tunneling process is much more intricate. For example, even for a single particle escaping out of a potential well, oscillatory short-time dynamics exists on top of the overall exponential decay. Our most recent preprint, which can be found on the arXiv at, explores tunneling in the presence of mean-field interactions. The mean-field interactions lead to swallowtails in the band structure and non-exponential tunneling dynamics. This non-exponential tunneling dynamics is observed experimentally (data taken in the Engels lab at WSU) and, through extensive theory calculations by postdoc Qingze Guan, traced back to the existence of swallowtails. The agreement between theory and experiment is quite stunning — congratulations to Qingze, Ome, Thomas, and Sean for these nice result!

June 15, 2020: Collaborative Work with Engels’ Group Highlighted by PRA

This figure is taken from the Physical Review A website [Q. Guan, T. M. Bersano, S. Mossman, P. Engels, and D. Blume, PRA 101, 063620 (2020)].

Our joint work with Peter Engels’ experimental group at WSU has been highlighted as an Editors’ Suggestion in Physical Review A. The paper is entitled “Rabi oscillations and Ramsey-type pulses in ultracold bosons: Role of interactions”. Check it out and see for yourself how well Qingze’s theory data fit Thomas’ and Sean’s experimental data. The figure on the right provides a first taste: the solid line shows Gross-Pitaevskii equation results; for comparison, the green and red symbols show experimental data. Outstanding job — congratulations to all!

Summer 2020: Welcome to Dave Hill

Dave Hill, who is about to finish his first year as a graduate student at OU, joined the Blume group. To get started, Dave is looking into understanding emitters embedded into a photonics background. Welcome, Dave!

DAMOP2020 — virtual, June 1 – 5

Check out the group’s contributions at the 2020 meeting of the Division of Atomic, Molecular, and Optical Physics of the American Physical Society. Take a look at the scientific program at

Postdoc Dr. Jianwen Jie will be presenting a poster (K01.00103) and is also a co-author on two contributions from the Schwettmann group at OU (K01.00105, N09.00003). Nice job Jianwen!

Former postdoc Dr. Qingze Guan has several contributions on projects that he worked on while at the University of Oklahoma in collaboration with Jianwen, the Schwettmann group, and the Engels group at WSU (D09.0006, E01.00099, K01.00103, K01.00105, N09.0003). Great job Qingze!

Spring 2020 in Norman, OK

Undergraduate AJ Yates presenting at URD2020

The OU Undergraduate Research Day going online for the first time in 2020; it takes place on April 25 — and the videos will remain up beyond this date. Take a look at all the great videos and search for AJ Yates’ video contribution on small helium clusters on the Honors College’s website:

Congratulations, AJ, for putting together a nice contribution!!!

OU hosts CUWiP2020

The Homer L. Dodge Department of Physics and Astronomy is hosting APS CUWiP at OU 2020. Check out details at Thank you to all for making this event a big success!

The event was spearheaded by CUWiP Chair Amber Roepe, a OU physics graduate student in experimental high energy physics. Doerte served as the Faculty Chair. The event was made possible by the dedicated efforts of a large number of undergraduate students, graduate students, staff, and faculty from Physics and Astronomy, as well as the financial support of many entities across campus — many thanks to everybody who helped out. This wouldn’t have been possible without the many, many hours that the many volunteers put in or without the financial support provided by OU, the APS, and private individuals. And many thank to the enthusiastic student participants and presenters!!!

Click here for 2019 News

Click here for 2018 News

Doerte Blume, Professor of Physics

Center for Quantum Research and Technology & Homer L. Dodge Department of Physics and Astronomy; The University of Oklahoma; 440 W. Brooks Street, Norman, Oklahoma 73019; USA

doerte.blume-1 _at_

%d bloggers like this: